California Fast Food Chain Workers Will Earn $20 Per Hour

March 29, 2024

With a new law taking effect in California on April 1, fast food workers in the state will have the highest base salary in the industry. Governor Gavin Newsom signed AB1228, or The Fast Act, in September. It bumps the minimum wage for fast food workers from $16 an hour to $20, but that only applies if that restaurant chain has 60 or more stores nationwide. Though small businesses do not have to raise their pay rates, some mom-and-pop restaurants are concerned about their employees leaving.

Watch Live
Inside Edition Streaming: Keep WatchingInside Edition Streaming: Keep Watching